A green cupcake for a friend

Page_34.jpg

First off, let me acknowledge that I am aware the matcha-craze has been on for quite a while, and that I am a little late to join the game; but for those of you who are not fashion-addict food-people (read: fäsheuhn addicteuh), matcha is powdered green tea traditionally used in the japanese tea-ceremony and now repurposed to make delicious desserts. You can add it to panacotta, cakes, macaroons or–as I did–to cupcakes.

My friend M. is currently waiting for the birth of her little boy and going bake-crazy in Oslo. She told me she had made trays upon trays of cinammon buns, all destined for the freezer. This reminded me of how she once told me that her biggest baking disaster had been a cake for her boyfriend with M&Ms inside. Granted, this sounds like a brilliant plan, because M&M+cake=perfect in my book, but her cake turned out not so, and ended up with a completely unappetizing green tint.

So these cupcakes are for her, and my only regret is that I wish we could eat them together. The color turned out a pleasant shade of pistachio rather than snotgreen, as I had previously feared, and the taste is really delicate and indeed green-tea-flavoured. They felt very sophisticated and chic and fashionable, and made me want to experiment more with this particular taste.

Page_33.jpg

Matcha Green Tea Cupcakes

prep time: 5min, baking time 18-20 min

125 g butter
2/3 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 1/2 cup of flour
1 1/2 tsp of baking powder
1/4 cup of milk
1 1/2 tsp matcha powder*

Preheat the oven to 180°. In a mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs one by one, beating well between each inclusion. Add the milk. Sift over the flour, baking powder and matcha. Beat until homogenized.
Line a muffin tin with papercases or butter each tin individually. Fill each tin to 3/4 with the dough (you should have enough for 12 cupcakes). Bake for 18-20 min or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
Let cool before serving with whipped cream and raspberries.

*This is my basic cupcake recipe, it never fails to deliver and you can substitute 1 tsp of vanilla for the greentea powder, or else ad lemon zest etc.

One word of caution: despite the fact that you could bake a greentea-cake and have it look all alien-like and therefore totally suited for a 4 year old’s birthday party, DON’T. I had one cupcake in the afternoon and was fully caffeinated afterwards thank-you-very-much!

3 Responses to “A green cupcake for a friend”

  1. célestelapeste Says:

    looks yummy especially with the cream & raspberries.I once made thé mistake of anouncing I’d be making matcha tiramisu, which made my husband espect just tiramisu (hum. Not knowing what matcha is,he’d probably just overheard the matcha part) so when I served my green -and by thé way very good and délicate tasting tiramisu, he was nothing but disapointed . Had I not named it tiramisu, he’d have liked it allright!
    So much for green desserts that far!

  2. 13desserts Says:

    I heard about the matcha-tiramisu from GM who was also startled by the green appearance! I guess we visionnaires will have to eat our green desserts alone, pff!

  3. fj Says:

    … en tant que co-responsable du dessert matcha, je me range parmi les visionnaires vertes. C’était très bon. Mais esthétiquement parlant assez peu convaincant. De ce point de vue, et seulement de ce point de vue, les cupcakes étaient plus réussis…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

