My ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe, or how to be yet another boring foodblogger

chocolatechipcookie.jpg

Chocolate chip cookies have got to be one of the items on my list of top ten favorite things to eat. Since they are pretty much THE north american cookie of choice, there are already numerous blogposts on them and everybody claims to have found the ultimate recipe for the most perfect chewy/crispy/meltey cookie ever.

Well… what can I say, so have I!! Maybe I will win an award for being the millionth (aspiring) foodblogger to post a chocolate chip cookie recipe on their blog!

My recipe comes from the classic Fanny Farmer cookbook that my husband brought with him from Canada on his move to Europe. It was given to him by his grandmother and has never failed me as a cookbook for classic north american food. This recipe is a great base for cookie dough, since you can tweak the add-on ingredients (oats and chocolate chip) and replace them by whatever strikes your pantry: nuts, raisins, cranberries, orange zest (Note to self: must try orange zest+chocolate chips!)

So without further ado let me introduce MY ultimate

Chocolate Chip Oat Cookies

Adapted from theFanny Farmer Cookbook
Prep Time: 15 min baking time: 8-10 min

½ cup (115 g) butter
½ cup dark brown sugar
½ cup granulated sugar
1 egg
¾ teaspoon vanilla (optional)
1 1/8 cup 155 g flour
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking soda
1 cup uncooked oats
1 cup chocolate chips (I used half dark, half milk chocolate)*

Makes about 40 cookies

Preheat the oven to 190C° and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat. Cream the butter, then add the two sugars, beating incorporated. Or simply soften the butter together with the sugar in the microwave, mix to combine.** Beat in the egg and vanilla.
Mix in the flour, salt, and baking soda blending well. Stir in the oats and the chocolate chips.

Drop dough by teaspoonfuls – or roll into teaspoonfull sized balls – on to the cookie sheets about 2 cm apart and bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned.

* I use chunks of chocolate rather then chips, since chocolate chips are a rare commodity in my part of the world
* *I prefer this method since it’s faster, and the cookies don’t really need the extra air from the creaming of butter and sugar, since unlike cake, they don’t have to become light and fluffy….

3 Responses to “My ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe, or how to be yet another boring foodblogger”

  1. heitmann Says:

    I made your cookies today, for me my first cookies ever. they were fantastic. mmmhhhhh. I really like your personal notes on the recipe!

  2. Ben Says:

    cool recipe + instructions! really easy to follow ><
    come check out some of my recipes if u have time at cookie recipes

    ben

  3. Sue (Cooksbakesbooks) Says:

    Thanks, Margue! It’s just a great recipe–little to improve upon, right?

Leave a Reply

