In Honor of the Upcoming World Nutella Day… Chocolate Pizza and Basic Pizza Dough

chocpizzaslice.jpg

Did you know, that there is a World Nutella Day? I read about it on Ms. Adventures in Italy, and I had to applaud the initiative. An entire day to celebrate Nutella is only right and proper!

As a child, we were never allowed to have nutella, which resulted in me developing a lifelong addiction to it – so much so, that one of the first things of my own that I bought when I moved into my own apartment, was a giant jar of nutella. Because I polished it off much too quickly, I have since tried to restrict myself to desperate times only. Hence, the appeal of a World Nutella Day.

I’ve had this recipe in my must-try folder for about a year and it seemed to be just the thing for this celebration: chocolate pizza.

Pizza, Nutella, and more chocolate to top it off sounded like my idea of a good time — but while it did not disappoint, it is not quite the dessert it was said to be. In my opinion, it is much better suited for goûter (the snack that most french children take after school, around 4 pm) or maybe even for a decadent breakfast.

It’s very quick and easy to make, I used my go-to basic pizza dough recipe, nutella and subsituted ribboned orange zest for the hazelnuts which gave it a more refreshing taste.

Basic Pizza Dough

Prep Time: 30 min baking time: 15 min

2/3 cup of lukewarm water
1/ Tbsp active dry yeast (amounts to one envelope)
1 Tsp of sugar
2 cups of flour
1/2 Tsp of salt
3 Tbsp of olive oil

baking sheet

In a mixing bowl, mix the water, yeast and sugar together and set aside in a warm place until bubbles form at the surface (5 min)
Add the flour, salt and olive oil to the yeast-preparation and beat with the wirehooks of your handmixer until an elastic dough forms (5 min). You can of course mix the dough by hand, but it will take about 5x longer.
When the dough has come together, roll it into a ball in the mixing bowl, cover with a teatowel and let it rise in a warm place until doubled in size (20 min).
Preheat the oven to 200° and line your baking sheet with parchment paper.
You will have enough dough for either 4 small pizzas, 2 medium sized ones, or one big one. If you are making pizza, proceed to top the rolled out dough with the topping of your choice and bake for about 20 min.

chocpizza.JPG.jpg

Chocolate Pizza

Prep Time: 2 min baking time: 22 min

1 Tbsp of melted butter
about 1/4 cup of Nutella or to taste
2 Tbsp white chocolate chunks
1/2 cup of dark chocolate chunks
1 Tbsp of orange zest

baking sheet

When your dough is done and rolled out into the desired size, prick it with a fork and brush the top with the melted butter. Bake it in the oven until golden and baked through – for about 15 min
When the pizza is done, take it out of the oven and spread it with your choice amount of nutella. Sprinkle the chocolate chunks and the orange zest on top. Bake it in the oven for another 2 min, or until all the chocolate has melted. Serve warm.

5 Responses to “In Honor of the Upcoming World Nutella Day… Chocolate Pizza and Basic Pizza Dough”

  1. céleste la peste Says:

    Mmmmmh! Sounds delightfull to me…
    Didn’t know about that World Nutella Day😉, though!

  2. bleeding espresso Says:

    I just love the addition of orange zest here!

    Thanks so much for participating in World Nutella Day🙂

  3. 13desserts Says:

    Thank you! Yes, the orange zest somehow seemed to make it more ‘grown-up’! I have to go check out the other entries for WND!

  4. vpitzi Says:

    I was going to make this pizza for the Nutella Day, but first I googled it to see if anyone has made it yet, and I found yours. I made something else instead, but your pizza looks so great, I’m definitely going to make it sometime soon, for a corrupt Saturday breakfast!🙂

  5. Franz of foodieholicme Says:

    Wow! Just by looking at it makes my tummy go “grawl”..^_^
    Nuttela forever!

Leave a Reply

