the Gwyneth Salad

rawbroccosalad.jpg

Lately, we’ve been having lots of dinners that we were so impatient to eat, that i forgot to take pictures of them. Or that i was too embarassed to blog about for lack of a ‘recipe’ to share. These dinners having all been on the fattening side of life (I am talking ‘Raclette’, here people!), this is where i seem to still be stuck, too.

Enter: the gwyneth salad

I saw this salad when it appeared in the ny times dining section and was strangely appealed to it. Really, though who wouldn’t want to it a salad involving raw broccoli? I can hear my sister making gagging sound all the way from Switzerland (wave! hi!) and frantically trying to tell me not to make ANYTHING involving broccoli.

Good thing I learned long ago that it doesn’t always pay to follow directives from your older sibling – one incident involved me eating soap after having been told it was chocolate. I was 2, and no, no bubbles appeared out of my mouth and nose, contrary to one particular tintin album – and followed through with the recipe. Of course, I couldn’t help but substitute a few things here and there, for instance 4 raw garlics cloves and raw broccoli sounds like something only a crazy person on a macrobiotic diet would eat (hence the ‘gwyneth’ for all you trashy magazine readers out there). And 3/4 cup of olive oil seemed equally excessive in light of our recent raclette-fest, so i used enough to cover my pan. oh, and I only marinated it for about 40 min, because I couldn’t stop myself from eating it!

cumin+garlic.jpg

Marinated Raw Broccoli Salad

prep time: 10min, marinate for 1h, I dare you!

1-2 heads of broccoli, cut in florets with the stalks sliced a few mm thick
1 1/2 tsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cumin seeds
1 peeled garlic clove, halved
pinch of dried red pepper
1 tsp toasted sesame oil
olive oil

salad bowl, saucepan

Mix the vinegar and salt in a salad bowl and toss through the broccoli. Cover the bottom of a saucepan with olive oil and heat the cumin seeds and the garlic clove until fragrant.* Add the sesame oil and the dried red pepper. Pour the mixture over the broccoli, combine and marinate at room temperature for 1 h. The salad keeps in the fridge for about a day or so. don’t forget to take out the garlic before serving!

*oh, and if you feel like swishing some hot oil around your pan chef-style… don’t do it. Olive oil doesn’t look really great when it’s splashed on a white wall…

7 Responses to “the Gwyneth Salad”

  1. heitmann Says:

    I have tasted this salad (prepared by the original chef), and have to say, was a bit sceptical in the begining (raw broccoli), but it is really amazingly extraordinary fantastic. never tasted broccoli like this before. it’s a do!

  2. céleste la peste Says:

    ok,ok,I’ll try it… and to my defense, the soap was NOT my idea😉

  3. céleste la peste Says:

    gwyneth salad for beginners or let’s make a compromise: ok, again, RAW broccoli is really too much for me but: I made a less hardcore version (for me) where I just “blanchied” the broccoli, keeping it sort of al dente, which really worked for me😉
    so thank you and the dressing is fabulous, so, thank you again!

  4. céleste la peste Says:

    PS: all hope is not gone: only idiots don’t change their minds, like our beloved frenchies would say!

  5. 13desserts Says:

    Yay! I am so glad to have convinced my toughest critic and simultaneous biggest supporter!

  6. NotAnIdiot Says:

    I DID IT!!!!
    I ATE RAW BROCCOLI!
    AND I ACTUALLY LIKED IT!

  7. 13desserts Says:

    hello notanidiot. I am glad to know that my suspicions are confirmed and that you are not an idiot! Bravo.

Leave a Reply

