Bragging about Potstickers

Page_20.jpg

In December, I got a copy of last fall’s donna hay magazine, and in it was a little dossier about the versatility of wonton wrappers. Being a dedicated follower of all things hay, I immediatly got hooked onto the very idea of anything to do with wonton wrappers. sadly, it took me a long time to actually purchase them. I had planned on stuffing and steaming them dim sum-style, but the package said ‘for deep-frying only’. Being that I have a deeply ingrained fear of deep frying (probably better that way anyway!) and that I was unsure as to wether I was gonna be able to steam whatever I was gonna make, I decided to go the potsticker route. I have not looked back.

I made them today, and I feel incredibly proud, as proud as the time I made my first cake. I also feel the ridiculous urge to repeat the word ‘potsticker’,’potsticker’,’potsticker’ over and over again, quite like my oldest son who is hooked on ‘Anhängerkupplung'(trailer hitch) right now. Except he says ‘Anhängerpupplung’ and he says it about, oh 20 times/h. It’s funny at first, really, but then you start to wonder about the title of that book ‘your three year old, friend or enemy’ and start to mentally ticking that ‘enemy’ box… Potstickers are friends. definitely.

Page_18.jpg

Potstickers

adapted from donna hay magazine
prep time: depending on how many you make, about 40 min, cooking time: 5 min

mixing bowl, kitchen towel, pastry brush, non-stick frying pan

300 g of minced chicken/pork or fish
1 egg white
zest of one lime
2 tbsp chopped cilantro
1 tbsp chopped mint (or thai basil, if on hand)
1 cm fresh ginger peeled and grated
a minuscule amount of garlic (I pressed a tiny clove, which yielded the perfect amount for my taste)
1 tbsp sesame seeds
about 20 wonton wrappers

Mix the chicken with the egg, lime zest, the herbs, sesame, ginger and garlic together in a bowl.

Page_19.jpg

Place a single wonton sheet onto a dry kitchen towel (if the wonton wrapper gets wet, it will stick to any other surface), place a tablespoon of the filling unto the center of the wrapper. Brush the edges with some water and press them together to form a little parcel. Repeat until no wrappers are left behind.

Heat a frying pan over medium heat, fill the bottom with water, bring to a boil and place the potstickers in it. They will stick. Cover, and cook until nearly all water has evaporated and the bottom of the parcels is brown. Serve hot with soy sauce, chili sauce, hoisin sauce, lime juice etc.

You could make the raw parcels ahead of time and freeze them until ready. The would cook for about 10 min straight from the freezer.

2 Responses to “Bragging about Potstickers”

  1. jbj Says:

    comme dans la guerre des boutons, “bouton Msieur, j’dis bouton, bouton, bouton”

  2. R. Says:

    I was inspired and made the potstickers! I added, after reconciliation with the chief of cooking blogs, vietnamese spring rolls and saté Spiesse. And to my surprise the potstickers have worked out beautiful and also were really quite easy to do! Wonderful idea, I would have never thought of doing them myself!

Leave a Reply

