Bright Eyed and Bushy Tailed

Page_2.jpg

Will you believe me if I tell you that it is currently just before 6 am, and that I have already been up for half an hour? This, by the way, is in no means due to my otherwise highly energetic nature, but rather to the fact that my little twins B. and B. (obviously not Brendon and Brenda, they are boys) are both working out their standing skills. And they both seem to believe it’s a good idea to be up bright eyed and bushy tailed at the crack of dawn. Me, not so much.

L. and I have decided to take the fall every other day, in the firm belief that this too shall pass. Today seems to be my day so here I am bleary eyed, malcoiffed and ready to share with you a lovely salad, that I would make again in a heartbeat, if I had the right ingredients on hand. For once, I don’t believe in substitution!

As an aside, I was going to share my recipe for High Tea, scones, cucumber sandwiches, radish sandwiches and meringues. Since my scones are the same ones as these, and the sandwiches are pretty easy (thinly slice cucumbers or radishes, butter some white bread with (salted) butter, spread with the thin slices of the vegetable of your choice, cut off the crust, cut the bread diagonally in four parts, serve), and ultimately since pretty much every picture of the lovely High Tea table, set all in shades of pink and the even lovelier company, was flawed to due the eminent presence of a jar of baby food at every shot (Note to self: remember your father’s adivce and always remove bottles and jars out of photos of tables!). I abstain in favor of this lemony lima bean, zucchini and chickpea salad.

Page_3.jpg

Lemony Lima Bean, Zucchini and Chickpea Salad

adapted from the Martha Stewart website
prep time: 10 min

300 g lima beans, fresh or frozen
1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 small zucchini
juice of one big lemon
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp of basil
1 tbsp of parsley
Parmesan to taste
olive oil
salt and pepper

Blanch the lima beans (or cook them if they are fresh) until they are just tender: 6 min for frozen, half the time for fresh beans. Blanch the zucchini for about 2 min. Toss togther with the chickpeas in a salad bowl. Add the lemon juice, olive oil, parsley, basil, salt and pepper. Toss to combine. Add salt and pepper to taste.

4 Responses to “Bright Eyed and Bushy Tailed”

  1. delicious chronicles Says:

    that tittle is the slogan of these cute plush toys I love it.. seems tasty!!

  2. céleste la peste Says:

    don’t tell me you found frozen lima beans in berlin!!!!
    this seems to be the kind of stuff you find only at PICARD surgelé, among other yummy busy mummy no time to cook stuff !!!!!
    this looks nice and fresh and if I find lima beans, I know what I’ll have for diner tonight…
    (life feels so much better after this “exam”- no bad conscience anymore, time and leisure…)

  3. 13desserts Says:

    Why hello there pestchen! Yes, we found them at our trusted supermarket and I can’t recommend the salad enough! I’m not yet on the no-guilt side of life, too much to do, too little time, and so so tired. a ce soir!

  4. 13desserts Says:

    Thank you delicious chronicles, the salad is super tasty and quick to make. I must google those plush toys…

Leave a Reply

