Unbelievable, but true…

Page_2.jpg

Do you realise, that it’s been something like 7 months since we have been together? You forgot, didn’t you? You always forget.
Well I didn’t, and I also realised that in those past 7 months, I have not once told you anything about pasta. That, friends, is absolutely unbelievable and probably unforgettable especially since in my food pyramid, pasta is probably the biggest food group.

Well I am about to remedy the situation with a bit of a cop-out. A pasta recipe so simple, it’s laughable to actually call it a recipe. But onward with it anyway.

Oh, and by the way, my alternative was to tell you about the crazy layer cake I made today. It involved excel-spreadsheets (drats), raspberry-ginger preserves (awesome), a lovely lemon cake (also really good) and the famed swiss meringue buttercream, which was unfortunately too sweet for the cake I had in mind.
Oh, and the photos? Wow, those were truly bad. Hence my choice of pasta and not cake for this sunday’s post. Ah well. the cake was still good, and I will probably remake both the cake and the preserve and blog about them. If you insist.

Page_3.jpg

Pasta with Buttered Broad Beans

prep time: 12 min, serves 3

300 g lima or broad beans, fresh or frozen
300 g short pasta
one lemon
butter
parmesan to taste
salt and pepper

Boil the water for pasta. Salt just before it comes to a boil. Add pasta and cook according to package instructions. In a separate pot, cook your lima beans for about 6 min or until tender. If you are the obsessive sort of person who has a cooking timer, you can also add the beans to the pasta water 6 min before your pasta’s time is up, that saves on dishes!
Drain pasta, toss in together with the beans, lots of butter, salt and pepper. Serve with freshly grated parmesan and a squeeze of lemon on top.

4 Responses to “Unbelievable, but true…”

  1. céleste la peste Says:

    those beans AGAIN!
    I’m so jealous…
    this looks really delicious and suddenly, I’m not that into my left-over feast anymore…

  2. Tim Says:

    It looks great. Often the best pasta is the simplest, where you can actually taste the pasta itself rather than it just being a sauce delivery system🙂

  3. 13desserts Says:

    Thanks pestchen, Ever since I’ve discovered that my local supermarket carries those beans, we’ve been having them pretty much every week!
    Tim, thank you and I actually have to shamefully admit that oftentimes, it seems pasta is a parmesan delivery system for me!

  4. Tim Says:

    Oh there’s no shame in it, I said nothing against it being a parmesan delivery system😛 (I’m like that too)

Leave a Reply

