A good soup

Page_42.jpg

I was going to get all economic-crisis-y on you with this particular recipe, but then I realised that the only reason to post this recipe is because it’s damn good.

Let me take a few steps back to explain what this is all about:

The soup shown here is made from turnip greens — something you wouldn’t normally think of using in that way, since it’s what one would generally consider waste or would feed to rabbits (if you had one); but growing up, we often had a soup made with the greens from radishes, and it was one of my favourites. Also, with the whole economic crises thing, I was thinking waste-not-want-not kind of food — though I have sometimes bought radishes just for the purpose of making the soup, discarding the actual radishes in the process (humhum, waste not what?!).

Anyway this weekend was the first time I made this soup with this particular ingredient and I am happy to report that it was equally as delicious as my memory of it with radish greens. The flavor is really delicate, nutty, and somewhat green close in taste to watercress soup. Plus I find the color really refreshing and spring-like. So, go get yourselves some turnips w greens or some radished and give this a try!

P.S. I don’t plan to throw out the turnip tops, though, because I really like them steamed, or in a soup, or with chickpeas and raz-el-hanout in a couscous…

Page_41.jpg

Turnip Green Soup

Prep Time: 5 min cooking time: 15 min
1 medium sized saucepan / stockpot, blender

1 bunch of turnip leaves (about 4 cups), washed
4 medium sized potatoes
1 bay leaf
about 4 cups water
salt and pepper, to taste

Peel and roughly chop the potatoes.
Put them in a saucepan together with the bayleave. Cover with cold water (2 cups should be enough),bring to a boil and cook on medium heat until just tender (about 10 min).
While the potatoes are cooking, wash the turnip greens in a lot of water. Add them, still wet, in to the saucepan with the now softened potatoes and leave the greens to wilt and slightly cook (5 more min).
Take the saucepan of the heat and thoroughly blend the whole thing together, making sure that there are no remaining chunks or stringy bits. You can add more water to adjust the consisteny, I ended up using about 4 cups. Season with salt an pepper and serve with toasted bread and creme fraiche.

9 Responses to “A good soup”

  1. céleste la peste Says:

    waow, the color looks amazing!
    does anyone know if “oseille” still exists? I was asking that girl from the fruit stand yesterday but she just looked ad me with that particularly blunt look of those teenagers on a kind of social duty on their parents fruit stand on a cold saturday morning, like, huh, “oseille”, probably something as old as you? and then she went all “groseille” on me so I gave her the “grow up” look and went away.
    But. i still haven’t found my “oseille” and just the thought of it makes my water mouth. I mean, mouth water.
    So. “oseille”, anyone?

  2. 13desserts Says:

    Ha! I’ve found some oseille (sauerampfer or sorrel) at the market here. And man, don’t we ever know that bored teenager look, like from within?? And I am so enjoying dishing out the ‘grow up’ look, BTW…
    So, yeah, keep looking – oseille, it’s out there.

  3. R. Says:

    It took me a while to figure out what turnip green is, as it is something I have never heard of to cook sperately. I will have to try this, once I find it here abouts. You know, that I am still looking for the beans from one of your other recipes. Never found them… Not a lot of variety in this region here.

  4. 13desserts Says:

    Hey R.

    you can find the fresh beans in the spring at the market and you could probably find them even now at the Viktualienmarkt. Our supermarket leaves all the extra leafy stuff on their vegetables (kohlrabi, turnips, radishes etc.) and you can choose to take take them of there or leave them on. I think you probably just get a different kind of variety where you live but I’ve also found that variety is a question of which supermarket you choose to go to. The bigger the better stocked seems to be the case here in B.!

  5. Berlin Reified Says:

    Really, you’ve found sorrel in Berlin? I’d love to know where!

  6. 13desserts Says:

    Hey BR, i found some at the Marheineke Markthalle. The Fruchthaus Lorenzen stocks it (spring was the last time I bought some) but they also order things for you. The’re generally a really nice and berlinerische place, the owner has a crazy beehive and berliners (berlinert) to the nth degree!

  7. Berlin Reified Says:

    I swung by the Markthalle on Friday and you’re right, the Fruchthaus people are lovely. Sadly there’s no Sauerampfer till the spring but it’s good to know where to go — thanks for the tip!

  8. jbj Says:

    tu peux pas tout le temps dire que cest une recette de tes parents, mais ce coup là c’est pourtant le cas, non? Bien la photo, vraiment bien avec le rose et vert sur fond de métal

  9. 13desserts Says:

    Merci! Et pourtant, je l’ai bien marquée en tant que ‘family recipe’!

Leave a Reply

