Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

People, since I have last spoken, a number of things have changed in my life. Within the last 10 days, I have turned 30, changed apartment (bigger, so much better and incredibly located) and acquired something I never dreamed I would own.

The move was ridiculously awful, and if you ever find yourself in a position to wonder wether you should move before or after you have three children, I urge you to do it before! Our kitchen ended up not being done on time, so we ate pasta pretty much everyday for about a week, until my sister came and saved us with champagne, good spirits and delicious sushis.

My birthday itself was not so fun, despite the fact that I absolutely don’t mind being thirty. In fact I have to admit I find it very chic (not sure when the novelty will wear off, though!). On the actual day, we went to ikea, a big box hardware store and took a stressful trip to our new local supermarket which is packed, this time of year and sells food at prices that boggle the mind. So it was a pretty normal day for a move but rather not so cool as a birthday.
The evening got better, as we had a dinner amidst boxes with some delicious cakes, our friend brought some candles for me to blow out, and I got some lovely gifts – one mostly, gifted by my parents who took their cue from my obsession of wanting a gift that would last and mark the birthday:

Page_52.jpg

And isn’t the color gorgeous? It looks so pretty in my shiny new white kitchen, I keep wanting to touch it and turn on the motor just to hear the lovely purring-sound it makes! I haven’t yet gotten around to using it, nor have I tried my shiny new oven. In fact, right now is the first ‘free time’ I have in about a month and I’ve felt so bad about neglecting the blog, that i thought I ought to give some news.
The stressful times are mostly behind us now, and we can focus on the good parts about moving, explore our new neighbourhood, enjoy our big and beautiful new kitchen and it’s shiny appliances and enjoy the view from our balcony.

Tomorrow we leave for my parents house were we will be celebrating Christmas. I’m pretty sure there will be cooking and baking, and I promise the next post will be a bona fide recipe+photo post.
For now, I will leave you with my best wishes for Christmas, I hope your year ends with as many great changes as mine did!

4 Responses to “Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!”

  1. fj Says:

    Sûre, j’en étais sûre! Que le prochain post serait sur le beautiful engine… C’est vraiment beau, pourquoi j’en aurais pas un pour mes xxx ans???
    (PS et les carreaux, ça a l’air de le faire aussi!)

  2. KLM Says:

    mais euh la photo de ta cuisine rest la même; on a pas la nouvelle, c’est pas parce qu’on tourne 30 qu’on doit devenir caussarde… j’attend la phoo de la nouvelle cuisine et pas que du robot….😉 gros bisou doux. le dément….

  3. Cynthia Says:

    Dearest M
    happy belated birthday (once again) and I LOVE the cherry red KA, It will be your friend for life. It will inspire you, support you and help you thru difficult buttercreams. I can’t wait to visit you and see your new pad, especially the new ktichen. Let me know when you are back in Berlin. I just returned from a few days in the NY. What an inspiring trip.
    Happy New Year – here’s to 2009!
    xxx Cyn

  4. ALM Says:

    Dear M,

    Funny, I also got a KA for my 30th birthday – it seems to be the appropriate gift for that time from parents! And still enjoy it all the time – especially our son likes to be the master of the speed buttons. Herzlichen Glückwunsch nachträglich und Euch eine gute Zeit in der neuen Wohnung. Vielleicht sehen wir uns wieder einmal in St.?

    Alles Liebe,
    A.

Leave a Reply

